It Comes Off With My Clothes

The Fifth of July

Daily Prompt: Layers

Translucent – that’s the color of my skin. My veins are visible through a layer of flesh. I can see the paleness of my tissue and the poor yellow of my fat, and my skin is translucent.

Though I am  transparent, you cannot see the insecurities through my cellophane flesh. Oh, but I am more than muscle and brawn.

I take off those layers and love the bare skin that needs no layers to amplify its beauty.

My clothes peel off in pieces, and I love the puzzling way my skin fits by itself. My insecurity soft in cotton; it comes off with my clothes.

Leave a Reply

