Blue Monday

Based on weather, debt, and the gradual decline of holiday morale, there is a specific day in January that has been deemed “blue”. This year, it was January 16.

Today, I am living in the aftermath on this Tuesday afternoon. Blue Monday was an invitation extended to the second semester of my freshman year. 2 AM saw the blue screen of my phone screen as my tired eyes watered at habits I had yet to kick over winter break. 6 AM was barely seen at all.

I have book receipts in my bags from classes I’d rather not take, and I am eating cereal for dinner again because neither my jeans nor wallet can afford Whataburger another night.

But I am writing, and the blue of this page and of every other sentence is enough to make me adore the color.

 

Leave a Reply

